Oh, poo!

Google+

AUTHOR MEMBER The Alliance of Independent Authors — Author Member

My heart sinks to my boots…a very disappointing result on my freebie Kindle version of August 3/4 – only 90. That frenzy of social networking was hardly worth the effort, I’m afraid. However, on a more positive note, paperbacks have been steadily selling when I do this myself. Perhaps the old way is best. Having totally underestimated the number that would go at the launch, I ordered 50 more and they almost all went at a local reading which I wasn’t even signed up to do; I just sort of insinuated myself. Business makes you pushy, inevitably. No; I’m misleading you: I was already pushy. I also gave away three on the tube and train via the ‘Books on the Underground’ scheme just by chatting to people who were already carrying a book.

Still regretting not having some, well loads of, dishonestly acquired reviews, rather than waiting for genuine ones to appear. Oh dear; business also makes you unethical. Well, of course it does. I have one more genuine 5 star review on the AskDavid site. Here it is: http://bit.ly/XJDMEk

About lindabanana

Retired university lecturer, former world traveller, now working part time as an academic examiner and gradually morphing into full-time creative worker: writing and crafts
This entry was posted in Becoming a published author. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, poo!

  1. I’m sorry, Linda. Even though I haven’t gotten up the nerve to launch my book yet [I’m really daunted by the amount of effort involved in indie publishing, especially since I already work full time!], I know how it feels to put a huge amount of work into something and see it go nowhere.
    However, if the paperback is selling, then you know it is a good story.
    Just keep writing.

  2. Shalu Sharma says:

    Sorry to hear that but you must keep trying. Glad to hear that paperback is selling.

Leave a Reply

